east view.jpg


This historic building was once the schoolhouse for the Town of Cooperton, now called Satank, and was first built in 1893.  It has gone through several renovations over the years to turn it into this charming single family home.  The homeowners desired an attached apartment to be used for extended stays by family members as well as a studio rental.

We designed the addition to look like it had always been there by integrating the roof lines with a long, graceful hip in corrugated metal.  The original brick that needed to be removed was saved and reused to help blend the new mudroom with the old.  The studio apartment features bright and comfortable living spaces facing the small patio on the south, a quite bedroom on the back side, and an entry that mimics the porch to mudroom entry of the main house